High School Quiz Bowl League Announces Division Winners

Put in Bay SchoolSeventeen of the teams comprising the Seneca / Wyandot / Put-in-Bay / Sandusky / Crawford High School Quiz Bowl League met on Friday, December 16, 2016, at Heidelberg University for its 31st annual double-elimination tournament.

Prior to the start of the tournament the top three teams in each of the three League divisions were recognized and received trophies and ribbons.  North Division winners are Ross High School, 7-2, 1st place; St. Joseph Central Catholic, also 7-2, one of their losses coming in a match with Ross, 2nd place; and in third place, Old Fort, 5-4.  The other North Division teams are Clyde, Put-in-Bay, and St. Wendelin.

The Central Division winners are Columbian, 9-0, 1st place; Seneca East, 7-2, 2nd place; and Hopewell-Loudon, 6-3, third place.  The other Central Division teams are Calvert, Fostoria, and North Central Academy.

Mohawk, 7-2, won the 1st place spot in the South Division; Upper Sandusky, 6-3, the 2nd place one; and Carey, 5-4, the 3rd place.  Bridges Community Academy, Buckeye Central, and New Riegel fill out the rest of the roster of the South Division teams.

In the tournament, last year’s tournament winner, 9-0 Columbian bowed out early.  Buckeye Central, who had ended the season a distant 4th place winner in the South Division, moved through the winner’s bracket but then fell to Ross, the North Division champ.  Winning the semi-final match with Hopewell-Loudon, Buckeye Central entered what was expected to be the final round of the tournament.  It wasn’t though, because the team won over Ross and sent Ross to the Consolation Bracket and a third match with Buckeye Central.  Ross came out on top this time, winning the tournament.  Buckeye Central takes home 2nd place honors and Hopewell-Loudon goes home not only as a third-place Central Division winner but also the third place winner of the tournament.

Ross with its double titles of tournament winner and North Division winner; Columbian, winner of the Central Division; and Mohawk, winner of the South Division, will participate in the Northwest Ohio Academic Regional Competition (O.A.C.) on Saturday, May 6, 2017, at Van Wert High School.  Regional winners and runners-up advance to the state championship in Columbus a week later on Saturday, May 13, 2017.

For more information, contact Kelly Hohman, League co-coordinator:

Kelly Hohman, NCOESC, 928 West Market Street, Suite A., Tiffin, Ohio 44883  419-447-2927