Super Moon Graces Lake Erie

 When the “Full Cold Moon” rises on Sunday night (Dec. 3) it will also mark the first (and last) “supermoon” of 2017. 

Supermoons happen when a full moon approximately coincides with the moon’s perigee, or a point in its orbit at which it is closest to Earth. This makes the moon appear up to 14 percent larger and 30 percent brighter than usual. The moon becomes totally full at 10:47 a.m. EST (1547 GMT) on Sunday (Dec. 3). It will officially reach perigee less than 24 hours later on Monday (Dec. 4) at 3:45 a.m. EST (0845 GMT), when it is 222,135 miles (357,492 kilometers) away from Earth.  Courtesy Space.com

The following images were captured from South Bass Island’s southeast side by three photographers : Caryl Fox (5), Donna Steinbach (2), Berni Steinbach (1,3,4).

Click to enlarge!

Super Moon

1-Moon rising!

Super Moon

2-Moon in clouds.

Super Moon

3-Moon in nightfall.

Super Moon

4-Moon zoomed in.

Super Moon

5-Moon blessing shoreline.